Gesualdo, Carlo
Madrigali a cinque voci. Libro quinto
Gesualdo 1611
Edition no.
BA 10385-01
Volume / Series
New Gesualdo Edition 5
Vela, Maria Caraci
Language(s) of work
Language(s) of text
Italian, English
Product format
Complete edition, Choral score, Anthology, Urtext edition
Canto, Quinto, Alto, Tenore, Basso
Pages / Format
CX, 123 S. - 30,5 x 23,5 cm
Carlo Gesualdo‘s fifth “Book of Madrigals” contains twenty-one pieces set for five voices. In terms of their formal structure, contrapuntal approach, chromaticism, and freedom of part writing, they are regarded as some of his most experimental compositions. This edition is based on the first edition by Carlino, which was published in 1611 under direct supervision of Gesualdo but has only been preserved in parts, as well as the edition published by Gardano in 1614 which was also presented in partbook form.
The detailed Preface discusses the editorial approach while describing and evaluating all relevant sources. Furthermore, conclusions regarding the distribution and importance of Gesualdo’s music are drawn from an analytical look at its dedicatees, and all essential characteristics of the compositions included in this volume are covered.
Additionally, the poems set to music by Gesualdo have been meticulously evaluated and edited for contemporary interpretation (N. Panizza). They are available in separate critical editions.
The concluding Critical Commentary contains an index of all handed down sources, listing all deviations from the two primary sources.

- First-ever edition based on the primary sources approved by the composer
- Extensive historic Preface
- Separate edition of the poems on which the music has been set
- Complete overview of sources listing different readings
If you can read this something went wrong
Press reviews
„The new complete edition is a very welcome development in Gesualdo studies, and the present volume … sets a very high bar for quality. This, and the publications still to come, will prove an essential foundation for future scholarship on an important and still not fully understood composer.“
(Massimo Ossi, Notes September 2019)
261.00 €
incl. VAT
Price reduction for a subscription