Dvorák, Antonín
Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra in B minor op. 104
Edition no.
TP 620
Volume / Series
Del Mar, Jonathan
Instrumentation of the work
Violoncello, Orchestra
Language(s) of text
English, Czech, German
Product format
Study score, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
XXIII, 118 S. - 22,5 x 16,5 cm
This study score is based on the score and complete performance material of Dvorák’s famous B minor Cello Concerto (BA 9045) edited by Jonathan Del Mar and published in 2011. In addition the study score contains a Foreword by Dvorák scholar Jan Smaczny.

Like every other major 19th-century cello concerto, Dvorák’s concerto resulted from a collaboration between the composer and a virtuoso musician. Several passages in Dvorák’s autograph were written by the cellist Hanus Wihan but Bärenreiter’s edition now reveals that some details in the orchestral parts are also in his writing, showing just how closely the two musicians were working together.

The editor Jonathan Del Mar has conscientiously examined every available source, including two that have hitherto been either ignored or crucially undervalued. His research has led to a benchmark edition that reconstructs, for the first time since its initial publication in 1896, Dvorák’s definitive version of the solo part. It differs from previous editions in practically every measure and hundreds of corrections have also been made to the orchestral parts.

• Includes Dvorák’s final and definitive version of the solo cello part
• Incorporates new discoveries regarding the collaboration between Dvorák and Wihan
• With Feuermann’s and Casals’s alternative versions of a passage in the first movement
• Detailed Foreword (Eng/Cz/Ger)
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
13.95 €
incl. VAT

Other media formats