Dvorák, Antonín
String Quartet no. 10 in E-flat major op. 51
- After many decades the first critical edition of this significant work
- Audible alteration in the 4th movement, in the viola part
- Early versions (the endings of the 2nd movement, “Dumka” and the 3rd movement, “Romance”) included in the appendix
Edition no.
TP 523
Volume / Series
Schick, Hartmut
Language(s) of text
German, Czech, English
Product format
Study score, Urtext edition
Replaces H 1599
Pages / Format
XI, 50 S. - 22,5 x 16,5 cm
When Antonín Dvorák started composing his String Quartet No. 10 in late 1878, none of his quartets had yet been performed. However this new work, deliberately cast in the “Slavonic” style, quickly achieved international renown and has remained among one of the most popular string quartets by Dvorák.

The authoritative Dvorák scholar Hartmut Schick has consulted all accessible sources, most notably the printed score published by Simrock and the autograph. Now, after many decades, a definitive Urtext edition of this major work can be presented. In comparison to the old Supraphon edition of 1955, the new publication includes a detailed Critical Commentary (Eng) as well as edited early versions of the middle movements in the appendix. A detailed Foreword (Ger/Cz/Eng) by the editor is also contained.
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
12.95 €
incl. VAT