Brahms, Johannes
Sextet for 2 Violins, 2 Violas und 2 Violoncellos in B-flat major op. 18
- First Urtext editions of these popular chamber music works
- Include variant readings from contemporary parts
- With facsimile pages
Edition no.
Volume / Series
Hogwood, Christopher
Language(s) of text
German, English
Product format
Study score, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
XIX, 58 S. - 22,5 x 16,5 cm
The two string sextets (op. 18 and op. 36 [BA 9420, TP 420]) by Johannes Brahms are amongst the high points of the Romantic string repertoire and some of the most popular chamber music works of all.

The new Bärenreiter Urtext editions, edited by Christopher Hogwood, are the first scholarly- critical editions of these much-performed works. The editor has taken all known sources into consideration including the versions for piano two and four hands which the composer wrote as well as a set of contemporary performing parts which offer variant readings and insights into performance practice during Brahms’ lifetime.

The study scores to each of these works include facsimile pages, a foreword (Ger/Eng) and a critical commentary (Eng) on the work and history of the composition.
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
15.50 €
incl. VAT
plus delivery costs