Schubert, Franz
Late Piano Pieces
Edition no.
BA 9634
Volume / Series
Dürr, Walther
Instrumentation of the work
Language(s) of text
German, English
Product format
Performance score, Anthology, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
XI, 37 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Following the newly engraved publications of Schubert’s “Moments Musicaux” (BA 9647) and “Impromptus” (BA 9648), the composer’s late piano works are now to be published in a scholarly-critical Urtext edition that will meet the demands of today’s performers. Schubert’s popular “Ungarische Melodie” D 817, inspired by gypsy melodies, was composed in 1824; his “Allegretto in C minor” D 915 was written in the spring of 1827; a little later, at the latest in 1828, he also wrote his “Drei Klavierstücke” D 94, which are closely related in form to his “Moments Musicaux”.

Suggestions on performance practice, optimum page turns and fingering which takes into consideration essential aspects of performance practice of Schubert’s time as well as the performance on modern concert pianos are all included in this edition.

- Based on the Urtext of the “New Schubert Edition”
- Newly engraved Urtext edition with optimum page turns
- With fingering and information on performance practice (Ger/Eng)
- In-depth foreword (Ger/Eng) and critical commentary (Eng)

Ungarische Melodie D 817
Allegretto in c D 915
Drei Klavierstücke D 946

Mario Aschauer
studied piano, historical keyboard instruments, conducting and musicology in Linz, Salzburg and Vienna. He performs as a soloist and chamber musician with, among others, the Austrian “Calamus-Consort”, and has developed a wide-ranging repertoire on the fortepiano, cembalo and organ. Mario Aschauer has been a collaborator for the “New Schubert Edition” since 2008 and is a teacher at the University of Vienna. In his research, he concentrates on the historicalperformance practice of European art music of the 17th–19th centuries.
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
11.50 €
incl. VAT

Other media formats