Skrjabin, Aleksandr
Complete Piano Sonatas IV
Edition no.
BA 9619
Volume / Series
Complete Piano Sonatas, Volume 4 | BÄRENREITER URTEXT
Flamm, Christoph
Language(s) of text
German, English
Product format
Performance score(s), Anthology, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
XXIX, 54 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Volume IV of Skrjabin’s “Complete Piano Sonatas” unites Sonata No. 9 op. 68 (nicknamed “Black Mass” – but not by Skrjabin) and Sonata No. 10 op. 70. These two works originated virtually at the same time, in 1911-13 and 1912-13, respectively.

Christoph Flamm has given both sonatas a fundamentally fresh look in this new Urtext edition. Exploiting all the autograph sources, including Skrjabin’s sketches and drafts, he has arrived at surprising new readings. His foreword sheds informative light on the genesis and significance of these pieces; the many variants are documented in detail in the Critical Commentary. The high editorial standards are complemented by spacious engraving and practical page-turns.

- Scholarly-critical Urtext edition including the latest research findings
- All autograph sources consulted, including sketches and drafts
- For students, pianists and teachers
- Detailed foreword (Ger/Eng) and Critical Commentary (Eng)
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
30.95 €
incl. VAT