Skrjabin, Aleksandr
Complete Piano Sonatas, Volume II
Edition no.
BA 9617
Volume / Series
Complete Piano Sonatas 2 | BÄRENREITER URTEXT
Flamm, Christoph
Instrumentation of the work
Product format
Performance score, Anthology, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
XLV, 48 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Piano works were at the centre of Alexander Skrjabin's compositional output. As an outstanding pianist, he began writing mainly miniatures for his instrument in the style of Romantic piano pieces.

But it was also Skrjabin who, unlike any other composer of his generation, contributed to the continuation of the sonata tradition. Particular milestones in his output were Sonatas nos. 4 and 5 of 1903 and 1907, in which we hear forms and harmonies not heard previously.

When these works are occasionally given the name "Poème" Sonatas, this indicates that they stem from the time and allude to the compositional context of Skrjabin's daring orchestral works ' Le Divin Poème ' and ' Le Poème de l´exstase ' .

The editor Christoph Flamm is an expert in Russian music, particularly piano music. His research, for example, into Nikolai Medtner and the editions based on these findings are regarded as standard works. For his Bärenreiter edition of Skrjabin's Sonata no. 5, Christoph Flamm has drawn on sources which were until recently regarded as lost or could only be consulted with great difficulty.

Skrjabin's Complete Piano Sonatas will be published in 4 volumes.

- Urtext edition based on the latest source research
- With facsimiles which also give information about the rediscovered sources
- Detailed foreword (Ger/Eng) and critical commentary (Eng)

If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
27.95 €
incl. VAT