Vierne, Louis
The Last Works
Edition no.
BA 9613
Volume / Series
Complete Piano Works, Volume 3 | BÄRENREITER URTEXT
Schauerte-Maubouet, Helga
Instrumentation of the work
Language(s) of text
French, English, German
Product format
Performance score, Anthology, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
XXXVIII, 68 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Louis Vierne is best-known as a famous organist and composer of organ music. Less well-known, as it was not part of his public life but was to a large extent reserved for private circles, was the fact that he was also an outstanding pianist.

His piano works were praised by his contemporaries for their compositional refinement, fine sonority as well as frequent virtuosic passages and are on the same artistic level as his organ works.

The third volume of the chronologically arranged edition of Vierne’s works includes “ Silhouettes d’enfants ” op. 43 in the tradition of 19th century children’s pieces and the major work of his later creative period, the four-movement cycle “ Solitude ” op. 44. It also includes two pieces which only survive in manuscript form, published here for the first time.

- Urtext Edition of Louis Vierne’s “Complete Piano Works” in three volumes
- Critical edition based on all available sources
- Includes two previously unpublished works
- With an extensive foreword (Fr/Ger/Eng), Critical Commentary and facsimile pages

"These are excellent, refreshing and innovative publications; I recommend all pianists and teachers looking for new and rewarding repertoire to explore these and have them in their collections."
(Piano Professional Spring 2015)

If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
33.50 €
incl. VAT
Price reduction for a subscription
Not available in
France, Reunion