Janácek, Leoš
Sonata for Clarinet and Piano
after the Sonata for Violin and Piano
Edition no.
BA 9581
Brill, Shirley
Instrumentation of the work
Clarinet (in B), Piano
Language(s) of text
German, English, Czech
Product format
Performance score, Part
Piano, Clarinet (in B)
Pages / Format
IV, 27/8 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
This arrangement of the well-known violin sonata is based on the volume of the “Complete Critical Edition of the Works of Leoš Janácek” (Series E/1–2).

The Israeli clarinetist Shirley Brill, who teaches at the Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin, has arranged the work for her instrument with a sensitive ear for the sound quality of the original composition. Her version displays the specific potential of the clarinet to good advantage; in a few passages it proved necessary to adapt the piano accompaniment. The arrangement was commissioned for the International Janácek Competition 2014 in Brno (Czech republic).

- Janácek’s masterpiece in a convincing arrangement for clarinet
- Foreword by the arranger (Eng/Cz/Ger)
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
20.50 €
incl. VAT