Dvorák, Antonín
String Quartet no. 1 A major op. 2
Edition no.
BA 9539
Burghauser, Jarmil / Cubr, Antonín
Product format
Set of parts
Violin (2), Viola, Violoncello
Replaces H 7625
in a folder
Pages / Format
20/23/19/16 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Dvorák was only twenty years old when he wrote his String Quartet No. 1 in A major, op. 2 (1862). The work is considered to be the composer’s second important work, after the String Quintet in A minor op. 1.
Dvorák did not return to working on op. 2 until 1887, when he was revising his early works. He deleted sections from this substantial quartet sparing only the Scherzo; the other movements where all cut by up to a third. The work was finally premiered by orchestral musicians from the National Theatre, but a printed edition was not published until the middle of the 20th century.

This new Bärenreiter edition presents the main musical text from the Complete Edition of 1989 which gives the work in its final form, after Dvorák’s revision. The edition is based on the autograph and on hand-written parts.

- With updated foreword (Cz/Eng/Ger), which are based on the latest research findings
If you can read this something went wrong
21.00 €
incl. VAT