Kozeluch, Leopold
Complete Sonatas for Keyboard III
Sonatas 25-37
Edition no.
BA 9513
Volume / Series
Complete Sonatas for Keyboard III | BÄRENREITER URTEXT
Hogwood, Christopher
Instrumentation of the work
Language(s) of text
English, Czech, German
Product format
Performance score, Anthology, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
XXXIX, 240 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
In 1790, during the lifetime of Mozart and Haydn, Ernst Ludwig Gerber wrote of Koželuch in his famous handbook for musicians, “without opposition, by young and old, (…) generally the best-loved composer alive today”. His works display “liveliness and grace, the noblest of melodies with the purest of harmonies, and a pleasing organisation of rhythm and modulation.”

Until now, pianists have had little chance to acquaint themselves with the complete range of Koželuch’s sonatas since very few modern editions were available. For the first time, this new complete edition by Christopher Hogwood presents all of Koželuch’s sonatas for keyboard solo. The four volumes each contain 12 to 13 sonatas, and the works are presented chronologically according to the date of their first publication. Volume IV will contain those sonatas that are found only in hand-written sources.

- First complete edition of the sonatas for keyboard by Leopold Koželuch
- Fills a gap in Czech and Middle-European Classical repertoire
- Suitable for amateurs as well as professionals; ideal for teaching purposes
- Includes a detailed introduction (Eng/Czech/Ger), critical commentary (Eng) and facsimile pages from the sources
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
39.95 €
incl. VAT