Fauré, Gabriel
Requiem op. 48
Version of 1900
Edition no.
BA 9461
Volume / Series
Stahl, Christina M. / Stegemann, Michael
Language(s) of work
Language(s) of text
German, English
Product format
Score, Urtext edition
Voice, Mixed choir, Orchestra
Pages / Format
X, 82 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Awarded with the German Music Edition Prize "Best Edition" 2012

The “ Messe de Requiem” is probably the internationally best-known and most frequently performed work by Gabriel Fauré . The composer’s first version was limited to just five movements and small-scale forces with low strings, harp and organ. The work was then expanded several times culminating in the version for large orchestra of 1900. This orchestral version forms the basis of this edition.

Despite its comparatively long period of gestation, the Requiem forms a stylistic unity. Unlike other requiem settings, the composer foregoes any theatrical gestures in this work. A restrained dynamic range together with graceful melodic writing for both soloists and choir give the work a gentle and optimistic character.

The vocal score is based on the volume of the “ Complete Works of Gabriel Fauré ” (BA 9461) published in 2010. It is important to note that this vocal score is also compatible with the first small-scale version as well as the second chamber orchestra version.

- High-quality Urtext edition based on the “ Complete works of Gabriel Fauré ”
- First systematic evaluation of all sources
- Based on the large orchestral version of 1900
- Informative Foreword (Ger/Eng)
- Vocal score suitable for all versions of the Requiem

If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
59.00 €
incl. VAT

Other media formats