Corelli, Arcangelo
Sonatas for Violin and Basso continuo op. 5, I-VI
Volume 1
Edition no.
BA 9455
Volume / Series
Hogwood, Christopher / Mark, Ryan
Instrumentation of the work
Violin, Basso continuo
Language(s) of text
English, German
Product format
Performance score, Set of parts, Anthology, Urtext edition
Violin, Basso continuo
Pages / Format
XXVI, 90/29/39/22 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Arcangelo Corelli, the violin virtuoso of his time, published his “Sonatas for Violin and Basso continuo opus V” in Rome in 1700. These sonatas are a compendium of violin playing of his time and laid the groundwork for future violin compositions.

Over the years the sonatas have been published in nearly 100 editions, all based on Corelli’s first edition which contains only the solo violin line above an unrealized bass line. Today, the sonatas are well known in numerous modern continuo realizations. However a realization from Corelli’s time by Antonio Tonelli also exists and is presented here for the first time in a modern performing edition. This realization is surprising in that it contains full chords, sometimes played by both hands.

In addition, Bärenreiter’s new scholarly-critical edition includes for the first time many violin embellishments. For the most part they have been found in handwritten documents by Tartini, Geminiani, McGibbon, Dubourg and Roger (from a re-print of the sonatas from c. 1710). These embellishments are presented in a separate booklet which players can place alongside Corelli’s original on the music stand.

Complementing this Urtext edition are a historical introduction, a critical commentary and an appendix containing preludes to the sonatas for keyboard by Tonelli.

- Score with realization of the basso continuo by Tonelli as well as Corelli’s unrealized figured bass line
- With a separate Urtext violin part
- With a separate unrealized figured continuo part
- Includes a supplement with violin embellishments
- Appendices in both volumes with source descriptions and critical commentaries
- Preludes for keyboard instrument by Tonelli in the appendix of volume 2

"this handsome Bärenreiter publication is all that both the Baroque adicionado and modern player could wish for in its clear spacious text -informative introduction covering the sonatas' provenance, with additional notes on ornamentation; keyboard realisation; and featuring strikingly illustrated facsimile pages."
(Strings März 2014)

If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
26.95 €
incl. VAT