Debussy, Claude
Works for Violin and Piano
- Debussy’s complete works for violin and piano
- With arrangements by Debussy’s acquaintance Hartmann
- Informative Foreword (Eng/Fr/Ger)
Edition no.
Volume / Series
Woodfull-Harris, Douglas
Instrumentation of the work
Violin, Piano
Language(s) of text
English, French, German
Product format
Performance score, Part, Anthology, Urtext edition
Violin, Piano
Pages / Format
XVII, 48/29 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Claude Debussy had difficulties finishing his last major work, the Sonata for Violin and Piano. This can be seen in the many drafts which have been handed down and the fact that the cycle for which it was conceived was left unfinished. The work originated under the impact of Debussy’s progressing illness as well as the First World War.

The first edition, published during the final year of Debussy’s life, contains many rhythmic errors. The non-autograph metronome marks as well as the discrepancies between the separate violin part and the violin part in small print in the piano score are two problems that have affected the work’s later reception. Both are examined here in a fresh light.

In addition to the Sonata, this edition contains arrangements of „La fille aux cheveux de lin“ and „Il pleure dans mon coeur“ by the American violinist Arthur Hartmann. It was Hartmann who inspired Debussy to make an arrangement of his well-known piano piece „Minstrels“, also included in our edition.
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
Press reviews
„Douglas Woodfull-Harris’ extensive introduction, insightful performance-practice notes, and critical commentary underpin this meticulous new Bärenreiter edition, bringing together all that a Debussy aficionado could wish for.”
(Mary Nemet, Strings February 2019)
21.95 €
incl. VAT