Brahms, Johannes
Sextet for 2 Violins, 2 Violas and 2 Violoncellos in B-flat major op. 18
Edition no.
BA 9419
Volume / Series
Hogwood, Christopher
Product format
Set of parts, Urtext edition
Violin (2), Viola (2), Violoncello (2)
in a folder
Pages / Format
13/13/15/15/13/12 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
The two string sextets (op. 18 and op. 36 [BA 9420, TP 420]) by Johannes Brahms are amongst the high points of the Romantic string repertoire and some of the most popular chamber music works of all.

The new Bärenreiter Urtext editions, edited by Christopher Hogwood, are the first scholarly- critical editions of these much-performed works. The editor has taken all known sources into consideration including the versions for piano two and four hands which the composer wrote as well as a set of contemporary performing parts which offer variant readings and insights into performance practice during Brahms’ lifetime.

The study scores to each of these works include facsimile pages, a foreword (Ger/Eng) and a critical commentary (Eng) on the work and history of the composition.

- First Urtext editions of these popular chamber music works
- Include variant readings from contemporary parts
- With facsimile pages

If you can read this something went wrong
37.50 €
incl. VAT