Ravel, Maurice
Sonata in Four Parts for Violin and Violoncello
- First Urtext edition of this work
- Two performing scores (format 25,5 x 32,5 cm)
- additional violoncello part in small print without page turn
Edition no.
Volume / Series
Woodfull-Harris, Douglas
Instrumentation of the work
Violin, Violoncello
Language(s) of text
German, English, French
Product format
Performance score (2), Urtext edition
Violin, Violoncello
Pages / Format
XXII, 19/19/3 S. - 32,5 x 25,5 cm
In 1920 Maurice Ravel was asked by his publisher Durand to contribute to an issue of "La Revue Musicale" dedicated to Claude Debussy. A supplement included the first movement of Ravel’s Sonata as well as works contributed by Debussy’s friends Stravinsky, Satie, Dukas, Bartok and de Falla to name only a few. This 1st movement of Ravel’s Sonata, of which the autograph is lost, then developed into a large scale four movement chamber music work utilizing a more modern music vocabulary than found in almost any other Ravel composition.

Bärenreiter’s scholarly-critical edition, the first ever of this masterpiece, presents the work in two performing scores. It contains an introduction on the history of the work reflecting Ravel’s work and rehearsals with violinist Hélène Jourdan-Morhange and cellist Maurice Maréchal. Sources for this new edition include the engraved copy, the personal autograph scores (with earlier versions of some passages) which were used to rehearse the work and the first edition scores with emendations by Jourdan-Morhange and Maréchal. Included in the appendix are the original fingerings by the performers which are not found in the first edition. They reflect how Ravel must have heard the work in rehearsals and as such are a document of early 20th century performance practice.
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
27.95 €
incl. VAT
plus delivery costs