Trojahn, Manfred
Piano Quartet
Edition no.
BA 9332
Product format
Score, Set of parts
Piano, Violin, Viola, Violoncello
Pages / Format
68/15/17/14 S. - 32,5 x 26,6 cm
Manfred Trojahn’s amply dimensioned piano quartet in four movements with a duration of approx. 40 minutes was composed and developed in several stages.

The inner movements, a Vivace characterised by lombard rhythms and vitality and a dream-like adagio were written in the Mozart Year 2005. By 2008 the outer movements were completed.
The opening Adagio “Zerbrochenes Lied” is an imposing lamentation of the dead whereas the Finale, a profound, moving “Wanderlied”, was dedicated to Trojahn’s friend and composer Wilhelm Killmayer on the occasion of his 80th birthday.
In this way Trojahn’s work stands in the tradition of Mozart’s two piano quartets, but adds a biographical element.

This is a large, musically demanding but rewarding work for ambitious musicians.
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
55.00 €
incl. VAT