Guilmant, Félix-Alexandre
Concert and Character Pieces 2
Edition no.
BA 9253
Volume / Series
Selected organ works VI | BÄRENREITER URTEXT
Kalipp, Wolf / Hielscher, Hans-Uwe
Product format
Performance score(s), Anthology, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
XXIV, 74 S. - 30,0 x 23,2 cm
As with previous volumes, Volume VI of the Urtext Edition of Alexandre Guilmant’s works presents a practical edition of selected works which have become famous in the international organ repertoire. The character pieces offer an insight into Guilmant’s lively imagination and performing practice. With moderate technical demands, clarity of form, these works are ideal for both church and concert performance.

Short text:
Guilmant‘s eight organ sonatas are 'classics' in the French Romantic organ tradition and belong to the permanent repertoire of organists everywhere. His late organ sonatas in particular draw on the idiom of Beethoven, Mendelssohn and Schumann while paying homage to the Belle Époque.

- First Urtext edition of Guilmant’s organ works
- Well-known pieces in a practical performing edition
- Based on the latest research
- Detailed foreword (Ger/Eng), Critical Commentary (Ger/Eng) with list of sources
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
44.50 €
incl. VAT