Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Felix
Lobgesang / Hymn of Praise op. 52 MWV A 18
A Symphony-Cantata after Texts from the Holy Scriptures
- Urtext edition taking all sources into account
- Piano reduction by the composer including his piano version of the “Sinfonia”
- Extensive Foreword (Ger/Eng) and detailed Critical Commentary (Eng)
Edition no.
Volume / Series
Cooper, John Michael
Instrumentation of the work
Soloists, Choir, Orchestra
Orchestral scoring
2S-solo,T-solo / GemCh-SATB / 2,2,2,2, - 4,2,3,1 - Org - Str
Language(s) of work
German, English
Product format
Choral score, Urtext edition
Mixed choir (SATB)
Pages / Format
52 S. - 27,0 x 19,0 cm
Mendelssohn’s contemporaries frequently mentioned his “Hymn of Praise” in the same breath as Beethoven’s Ninth – and often enough viewed it as an imitation. Mendelssohn authority John Michael Cooper, in his extensive Introduction to this new Urtext edition, shows that the comparison is completely unfounded: with this work Mendelssohn created a new genre to which he gave the name “symphony-cantata”. Later he added a secular counterpart with “Die Erste Walpurgisnacht”.

Drawing on all relevant sources, Cooper provides a detailed account of the genesis and structure of this monumental work. Rounding off his scholarly performing edition are notes on the work’s performance, e.g. tempo, articulation and dynamics.

For the first time the piano reduction includes Mendelssohn’s authorised version of the “Sinfonia”, based on the first edition of No. 1 for piano solo.
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
6.50 €
incl. VAT
plus delivery costs
Minimum qty.: 10