Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Felix
A Midsummer Night's Dream op. 21
Concert Overture
Edition no.
BA 9056
Volume / Series
Hogwood, Christopher
Product format
Score, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
XXVIII, 66 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Christopher Hogwood’s first ever critical edition of the much performed concert overture goes back for the first time to all the sources. Hogwood examines not only Mendelssohn’s autograph but also the first edition of the score and orchestral parts which Mendelssohn saw to print. A manuscript copy with additional music thought to have been performed under Mendelssohn’s direction, but later deleted, as well as the composer's own two and four-hand piano arrangements of the composition were also taken into account.

As with the other overtures in this series, the score contains a lengthy introduction, a critical commentary and facsimiles.

- First ever critical edition of this concert overture
- Additional music included in score and parts stemming from a source used by Mendelssohn for a performance of the work
If you can read this something went wrong
44.50 €
incl. VAT
Lieferbarkeitsanzeigetemporarily out of stock

Other media formats