Beethoven, Ludwig van
Sonatas for Pianoforte and Violin
Volume I and Volume II
- Special set price for Beethoven’s Sonatas for pianoforte and violin
- First edition with Critical Commentary, source description, historical information on Beethoven’s notation and metronome markings, and a Performing Practice Commentary (online resource)
- Each volume with two solo violin parts (Urtext and historically annotated)
Edition no.
Volume / Series
Brown, Clive
Instrumentation of the work
Piano, Violin
Language(s) of text
English, German
Product format
Performance score (2), Part (2), Urtext edition, Anthology
Piano, Violin
Pages / Format
LXXV, 151 / 49, 49 S./LXXVII, 210 / 64, 64 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Beethoven’s ten sonatas for violin and piano are among the most famous works of chamber music history and represent, together with Mozart’s works for this combination, the core of violin repertoire from the Viennese Classicist period.

Clive Brown’s ground-breaking new edition combines a scholarly Urtext approach with the provision of a wealth of information on historical performing practice, all conveniently united in one practical edition. It is the first scholarly-critical edition to include a complete Critical Commentary and a description of all relevant sources.

This edition contains all ten sonatas for violin and pianoforte by Beethoven; five in the first (BA 9014) and five in the second volume (BA 9015). Additionally, it offers a detailed introduction by Clive Brown, the chapter “Reading between the lines of Beethoven’s notation” (German/English), as well as information on historical metronome markings and the Critical Commentary (English).

This edition consists of a score and two individual parts for the violin: an Urtext part based on the scholarly-critical assessment of all sources, and an annotated part with fingering and bowing by Clive Brown based on the thorough study of historical techniques and practices.

The pivotal Performing Practice Commentary by Clive Brown and Neal Peres Da Costa is available online, supplementing information on performing practice for each Sonata and each movement in this volume. It discusses conventions of both violin and piano playing in Beethoven’s period, describes historical contexts and advises on phrasing and technique based on the evaluation of historical editions (s.a. von Czerny, Ferdinand David, Alard, Diémer, Grützmacher, Reinecke, Brodsky, Joachim, Rosé, Halir, Kreisler etc.).

If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
Press reviews
“Brown’s edition rethinks the concept of a modern ‘urtext’ and has a great deal to offer both scholars and performers interested in historical performance practices of Beethoven’s music.”
(Erica Buurman, Eighteenth-Century Music 1/2022)

“a great deal, especially for the performer and anyone interested in nineteenth-century performance practice. … In short, Brown provides an almost overwhelming amount of relevant information on how to ‘read between the lines’ in these Urtext editions, to arrive at performances that Beethoven’s contemporaries might have recognized, enjoyed and found ‘beautiful’. … Brown’s edition looks not backwards into genesis, but forward into the Beethoven sonata’s reception and performance, leaving the performer interested in historically informed performance extremely well endowed.”
(Nancy November, Nineteenth-Century Music Review July 2021)

“No matter how well we think we ‘know the score’, this publication obliges us as performers to re-assess our interpretations of these well-loved works.“
(Mary Nemet, Stringendo April 2021)

80.00 €
incl. VAT
plus delivery costs