Beethoven, Ludwig van
String Quartet in C-sharp minor op. 131
- Often considered one of Beethoven’s most personal compositions
- New scholarly-critical edition by Jonathan Del Mar
- Beethoven’s pencil markings meticulously evaluated
Edition no.
Volume / Series
Del Mar, Jonathan
Instrumentation of the work
String quartet
Product format
Set of parts, Urtext edition
1. Violin, 2. Violin, Viola, Violoncello
in a folder
Pages / Format
22/20/20/22 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Many anecdotes surround String Quartet op. 131: Beethoven is said to have considered it to be his finest quartet and of his late period works, the one dearest to his heart. It is also believed that the composer invested so much of himself in it; his ailing health, the social isolation brought about by his deafness and the suicide attempt of his nephew Karl. In addition it was reported that Franz Schubert asked to hear this piece once more on his deathbed.

Even if these anecdotes are not all true, they reveal what generations of musicians felt they heard in this quartet: Beethoven’s most personal musical idiom and a vulnerable message from the final period of his life.

This new edition by Jonathan Del Mar represents a thorough revision of this highly complex work. Meticulously incorporated are Beethoven’s pencil markings that were previously almost completely ignored.
If you can read this something went wrong
Press reviews
“The score contains a wonderfully informative and historically informed introduction by noted Beethoven lecturer, Misha Donat. Jonathan Del Mar, one of best in the business when it comes to the scholarly researching and editing of the music of Beethoven, hits another home with the release of this edition. As usual with Mr. Del Mar and Bärenreiter, the edition has been meticulously prepared using the most current historically based research. Like the score, the performing parts for each of the players look absolutely gorgeous. Each part seems to use a slightly larger notational font for easier reading, a real blessing for us older folks whose sight might not be what it once was. Each part is pragmatically laid out in terms of page turns. High marks for readability and ease of use!”
(Craig Purdy, American Music Teacher, June/July 2020)
26.95 €
incl. VAT
plus delivery costs