Beethoven, Ludwig van
String Quartet in E-flat major op. 127
Edition no.
BA 9029
Volume / Series
Del Mar, Jonathan
Instrumentation of the work
String quartet
Product format
Set of parts, Urtext edition
1. Violin, 2. Violin, Viola, Violoncello
in a folder
Pages / Format
23/14/15/15 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
This new scholarly-critical edition of String Quartet op. 127, the first of Beethoven’s late quartets, follows upon Urtext publications of opp. 18, 59, 74 and 95.

Once more the editor is the renowned Beethoven authority Jonathan Del Mar. All surviving sources have been consulted including sketches to clarify the conflicting readings in the autograph. Not only has Del Mar reconstructed Beethoven’s original beaming, phrasing, articulation and length of crescendo hairpins, he has also corrected wrong notes that have taken hold in editions published over the years and has supplemented missing notes.

• Urtext edition at the cutting edge of scholarship, with detailed separate Critical Commentary (Eng)
• Parts ideally laid out for performance purposes
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
Press reviews
“The score contains a wonderfully informative and historically informed introduction by noted Beethoven lecturer, Misha Donat. Jonathan Del Mar, one of best in the business when it comes to the scholarly researching and editing of the music of Beethoven, hits another home with the release of this edition. As usual with Mr. Del Mar and Bärenreiter, the edition has been meticulously prepared using the most current historically based research. Like the score, the performing parts for each of the players look absolutely gorgeous. Each part seems to use a slightly larger notational font for easier reading, a real blessing for us older folks whose sight might not be what it once was. Each part is pragmatically laid out in terms of page turns. High marks for readability and ease of use!”
(Craig Purdy, American Music Teacher, June/July 2020)
23.95 €
incl. VAT