Beethoven, Ludwig van
Variations for Pianoforte and Violoncello op. 66, WoO 45, WoO 46
- With numerous corrections in the violoncello part
- Included in the critical commentary is a complete facsimile of the violoncello part of op. 66, as it appeared in the first edition
Edition no.
Volume / Series
Del Mar, Jonathan
Instrumentation of the work
Violoncello, Piano
Language(s) of text
English, German
Product format
Score, Part, Urtext edition, Anthology
Piano, Violoncello
Pages / Format
XI, 62/15 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Beethoven’s three sets of cello variations comprise the “Twelve Variations on a Theme from Händel’s Oratorio ‘Judas Maccabeus’” (WoO 45), the “Twelve Variations on the theme ‘Ein Mädchen oder Weibchen’” (op.66) from Mozart’s opera “Die Zauberflöte” and the “Seven Variations on the duet ‘Bei Männern, welche Liebe fühlen’” (WoO 46), also from “Die Zauberflöte”.

These works have existed in many different editions, some of which have from time to time been (tacitly) reprinted with corrections to keep up to date with the latest scholarship. This new Bärenreiter Urtext edition, however, is the first to give all Beethoven’s rhythms in the violoncello part correctly. Beethoven’s autograph manuscript of op.66 is lost; the critical commentary (English) includes a complete facsimile of the violoncello part from the only surviving source (the first edition), illustrating the various problems encountered in determining the best musical text.
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
26.95 €
incl. VAT
plus delivery costs