Rameau, Jean-Philippe
Dardanus RCT 35 A, 35 B
Tragédie in one prologue and 5 acts
Symphonies / Versions from 1739 and 1744
- A collection of the purely instrumental numbers in their various versions
- Overview according to key in the contents
- Enables suites to be individually compiled from the given movements
Edition no.
BA 8899
Herlin, Denis
Instrumentation of the work
Orchestral scoring
2picc,2,2,0,2 - 0,0,0,0 - 2Musettes - Str(Va haute-contres und tailles de violon),Bc
Language(s) of text
French, English
Product format
Score, Anthology, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
VI, 117 S. - 33,0 x 24,0 cm
“Dardanus” is Rameau’s third “Tragédie lyrique” composed for Paris after “Hippolyte et Aricie” and “Castor et Pollux”. With its multi-facetted music it represents quite a high point of this genre. Its performance history is remarkable in that within only five years two clearly different versions were being performed.

The new critical edition by Denis Herlin for the first time offers the possibility to reconstruct the version of May 1744 in addition to the version of 1739. Also, the Appendices include the complete performance material of the version of April 1744, many parts of which could not be heard since. Last but not least the changes of the successful re-staging of 1760 are presented.

This performing edition contains all the purely instrumental numbers of the opera in their various versions. Apart from the preludes and ritornellos, these are above all the diverse dance numbers.
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
84.00 €
incl. VAT