Monteverdi, Claudio
L'incoronazione di Poppea
Opera regia with a prologue and three acts
Edition no.
BA 8792
Volume / Series
Schulze, Hendrik
Orchestral scoring
6S-solo,Mez-solo,2A-solo,2T-solo,2B-solo / Str(2V,Va ad lib.) - Bc
Language(s) of work
Language(s) of text
English, German
Product format
Score, Urtext edition
Soprano solo (6), Mezzo-soprano solo, Alto solo (2), Tenor solo (2), Bass solo (2), String orchestra
Pages / Format
LVI, 303 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
L’incoronazione di Poppea, Claudio Monteverdi’s final opera, had a formative impact on the evolution of this genre. Yet its convoluted source situation makes it one of music history’s great enigmas. There are practically no references to the original version that Monteverdi performed in Venice in 1643, as the score has not survived.

To celebrate the 450th anniversary of Monteverdi’s birth, this operatic masterpiece is appearing in an edition close to the presumed original. The new edition is based on the score prepared in Venice and found among the possessions of Francesco Cavalli.

This scholarly edition came about due to a remarkable project at the University of North Texas; it was compiled and edited by Hendrik Schulze and his students on the basis of the latest research findings concerning source evaluation, performance practice and the historical context.

• Detailed Introduction to questions regarding sources and interpretation (Eng/Ger)
• Extensive critical apparatus (Eng)
• Libretto edited by Nicola Badolato with text translations (Ital/Eng/Ger)
• Appendix with alternative readings from the Naples source
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
Press reviews
„Alles in allem ist diese Edition eine höchst erfreuliche, die auf jeden Fall für mehrere Jahre prägend sein wird. Sie bringt akribische wissenschaftliche Editionstheorie mit praktischer Aufführbarkeit zusammen. … Jeder Mensch, der sich mit den Opern Monteverdis beschäftigt, sollte diese Partitur neben den Faksimiles im Bücherregal haben!“
(Greta Haenen, Die Musikforschung 3/2019)
110.00 €
incl. VAT