Glazunov, Alexander
Concerto for Alto Saxophone und String Orchestra in E-flat major op. 109
- Includes the original and new solo cadenzas
- With helpful performance tips by Carina Raschèr, the daughter of Sigurd Raschèr
- With an Urtext solo saxophone part and a second part prepared by Carina Raschèr
- Informative foreword (Ger/Eng)
Edition no.
Volume / Series
Back, Regina / Woodfull-Harris, Douglas
Schelhaas, Martin
Instrumentation of the work
Saxophone, Orchestra
Language(s) of text
German, English
Product format
Piano reduction, Part, Urtext edition
Alto saxophone, Piano
Pages / Format
XV, 22/11/11 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
The Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Orchestra is Alexander Glazunov’s last work; since its first performance in 1934 it has become part of the standard saxophone repertoire. The sole surviving autograph manuscript is the hand-written dedication score given by Glazunov to Sigurd Raschèr (Raschèr was the founder and leader of the well-known and innovative Raschèr Saxophone Quartet).

This score contains the original version of the work without the alterations which were made in the proofs to the orchestral score as well as the full version of the composer’s cadenza which was later shortened. The autograph manuscript also contains some performance markings by Raschèr.

The correspondence between Raschèr and Glazunov documents the composer’s thoughts on the work and his recommendations about the size of the accompanying string orchestra. Evidence from this correspondence has been integrated into this edition.

This first scholarly-critical edition of a work by Glazunov contains an informative introduction with commentaries about the history of its composition, facsimiles and a critical commentary.

The solo part includes both the complete and the shortened version of the cadenza as well as a cadenza by Raschèr which the composer authorised.
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
25.95 €
incl. VAT
plus delivery costs