Frescobaldi, Girolamo
Il Secondo Libro di Toccate, Canzone, Versi d'Hinni, Magnificat, Gagliarde, Correnti et altre Partite (Rom, Borboni, 1627, ²1637)
- Reflecting the latest musicological research
- Detailed foreword, critical commentary, index of sources (Ger/Eng)
Edition no.
Volume / Series
Girolamo Frescobaldi. Organ and Keyboard Works 3 | BÄRENREITER URTEXT
Stembridge, Christopher / Gilbert, Kenneth
Language(s) of text
German, Italian, English
Product format
Performance score, Anthology, Urtext edition
Organ, Piano, Harpsichord
Pages / Format
XVI, 120 S. - 24,0 x 30,5 cm
With this volume, Bärenreiter is continuing the Frescobaldi Urtext edition which sets new standards offering professional musicians, musicologists and enthusiasts alike an unrivalled musical text.

Volume III includes Frescobaldi’s foreword on the performance of his keyboard music (“avvertimenti”), eleven toccatas for organ, the “madrigale passagiatio” “Ancidetemi pur d’Archadelt” (in addition Arcadelt’s madrigal of the same name in the Appendix), six canzonas, strictly contrapuntal hymns and Magnificat settings primarily intended for organists, five galliards and six correntes, the “Aria detta La Frescobalda” and three partitas.

Each volume contains an introduction which describes the genesis of the works, the situation regarding sources, performance practice as well as the editorial technique employed. A critical commentary rounds off each volume.
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
56.00 €
incl. VAT
plus delivery costs