Guilmant, Félix-Alexandre
Selected Organ Works II
Edition no.
BA 8408
Volume / Series
Selected Organ Works II | BÄRENREITER URTEXT
Kalipp, Wolf
Product format
Performance score(s), Anthology, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
XXVIII, 167 S. - 30,0 x 23,0 cm
Awarded with the German Music Edition Prize "Best Edition" 2002

Alexandre Guilmant was organist at the Trinity Church in Paris and a professor at the Conservatoire. His influence was widespread and an entire school was founded on his playing.

Guilmant’s eight organ sonatas are classics of the French Romantic organ tradition and belong to the core repertoire of organists everywhere. His late organ sonatas in particular draw on the idiomatic styles of Beethoven, Mendelssohn and Schumann while paying homage to the Belle Époque.

- First scholarly-critical edition of Guilmant’s organ music
- Based on latest scholarly research. Includes previously unexplored sources
- Included in each volume is a detailed foreword (Fr/Eng/Ger), critical report (Ger) with an initial explanatory text (Fr/Ger/Eng), and catalogue of sources
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
52.00 €
incl. VAT