Fauré, Gabriel
Quatuor à cordes / String Quartet op. 121 N 195
Edition no.
BA 7901
Volume / Series
Sobaskie, James William
Instrumentation of the work
String quartet
Product format
Set of parts, Urtext edition
Violin (2), Viola, Violoncello
in a folder
Pages / Format
10/10/11/9 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Gabriel Fauré’s only string quartet which was composed in 1923-24 is the composer’s final work and was written at the suggestion of his publisher Jacques Durand. Until then, Fauré had always put off writing a string quartet, evidently because of Beethoven’s imposing shadow.

When Fauré composed the quartet he was already extremely ill. He added dynamics and slurs only in some parts of the exposition of the first movement and then asked his former pupil Jean Roger- Ducasse to complete the work. Roger- Ducasse’s additions were however very extensive; he even altered and supplemented some of Fauré’s own markings in the exposition.

Bärenreiter’s first ever scholarly critical edition of the quartet utilises all sources including the composer’s letters which provide valuable insights into the origins of the composition.

In particular, Fauré’s penultimate work, the Piano Trio op. 120, was used to guide the editor with his emendations.

- First scholarly-critical edition of this work
- High-quality Urtext edition based on “the Complete Works of Gabriel Fauré”
- Standard repertoire work for every string quartet
- Foreword (Eng/Fr/Ger)
If you can read this something went wrong
39.50 €
incl. VAT
Not available in
United States