Debussy, Claude
Première Rhapsodie for Clarinet in B-flat and Piano
- First Urtext edition of the orchestral version
- First scholarly-critical edition of a pioneering work for clarinet
- Trilingual Foreword (Eng/Fr/Ger) with Critical Commentary (Eng)
Edition no.
Volume / Series
Woodfull-Harris, Douglas
Instrumentation of the work
Clarinet, Orchestra
Language(s) of text
English, French, German
Product format
Piano reduction, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
XXI, 17/7 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Debussy’s Première Rhapsodie is one of only two concertante works completed, premiered and published during his lifetime. He was commissioned to write it in 1909 for the final examination at the Paris Conservatoire in 1910. Debussy orchestrated it in the summer of 1911. While transferring the clarinet part from the already published version for clarinet and piano, he made a few subtle changes, particularly in m. 201, which has been a bone of contention among clarinettists for over a century.

The present scholarly-critical publication is the first Urtext edition of the orchestral version. It draws on every known source and takes into account a previously ignored source that sheds new light on the piece.

If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
Press reviews
„if one seeks the ,last word‘ in scholarship and detail concerning Claude Debussy’s Première Rhapsodie, I highly recommend the Bärenreiter clarinet/piano and clarinet/orchestra editions, skillfully edited by Douglas Woodfull-Harris.“
(Dennis Nygren, The Clarinet, September 2018)
15.95 €
incl. VAT
plus delivery costs