Bach, Johann Sebastian
Orchestral Suite (Overture) C major BWV 1066
Edition no.
BA 5252
Volume / Series
Besseler, Heinrich / Grüß, Hans
Language(s) of text
German, English
Product format
Score, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
X, 22 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
J.S. Bach’s four Orchestral Suites belong to that select group of works one could truly call classical hits! They stem from Bach’s extremely productive time in Cöthen which ended in 1721.

Unfortunately the only sources that have come down to us are copyist parts from Leipzig . These originally formed the basis for the critical complete edition volume which was published in 1967 as part of the “ New Bach Edition” .

At that time Bärenreiter also issued separate scores and parts which however were prepared with additional articulation and performance suggestions. Bärenreiter’s new edition of Bach’s great four suites now presents the Urtext as found in the “ New Bach Edition” i.e. without emendations and performance suggestions. The orchestral parts have been re-engraved and the material includes an alternative version of the Overture and Air to the D major suite BWV 1068 including a “Violino concertato” part.

- Urtext editions of these important works
- Newly engraved parts and fully realized continuo
- For the first time an alternative version of the Overture and Air to the D major suite BWV 1068 with “ Violino concertato ” is included
If you can read this something went wrong
15.50 €
incl. VAT