Händel, Georg Friedrich
Sämtliche Sonaten für Blockflöte und Basso continuo
- Authoritative edition based on the reliable Urtext of the Halle Handel Edition
- Performance practice tips (English/German)
- Score with solo recorder part and bass part with figures
Edition no.
Volume / Series
Best, Terence
Instrumentation of the work
Recorder, Basso continuo
Product format
Score, Set of parts, Urtext edition, Anthology
Recorder, Basso continuo
Pages / Format
XII, 53/20/23 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
The popularity of Handel’s recorder sonatas can easily be gauged by the sheer number of old and modern publications of them. This edition unites the six authentic sonatas and also includes the early version of movement no. 6 to the D minor sonata. It is based on the eminently reliable text of the Halle Handel Edition, the “last word” in Handel scholarship.
The G minor, A minor, C major and F major sonatas were originally edited by Hans Peter Schmitz in 1955 for the Halle Handel Edition. These sonatas were then re-edited in 1995 by Terence Best.

The publication contains a thorough discussion of the history and genesis of the works and handy tips dealing with performance practice by the renowned Handel scholar Terence Best. In addition to the score, the edition has a solo recorder part and a bass part with figures.
A must publication for performers of Handel’s beloved music for recorder.

This publication replaces the older Hortus Musicus nos. 251 and 269.
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
34.50 €
incl. VAT