Beethoven, Ludwig van
Complete Sonatas for Pianoforte I-III
- A definitive new critical performing edition at the cutting edge of Beethoven scholarship
- Elegant, reader-friendly layout with practical page turns
- Table of contents with incipits as well as running titles enable easy location of works
Edition no.
BA 11840
Volume / Series
Ludwig van Beethoven. Complete Sonatas for Pianoforte 1-3 | BÄRENREITER URTEXT
Del Mar, Jonathan
Instrumentation of the work
Language(s) of text
English, German
Product format
Performance score (3), Anthology, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
XIX, 241/227/239 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Following the critically acclaimed publication of the 35 Piano Sonatas in separate editions, Bärenreiter now presents Beethoven’s Complete Piano Sonatas in three volumes. This edition, which is unparalleled in terms of its philological accuracy, has been edited by world-renowned Beethoven expert Jonathan Del Mar guaranteeing a musical text at the forefront of musicological scholarship. Each volume is equipped with a table of contents including incipits of each sonata. Running titles with opus and movement numbers enable a quick identification of individual works and movements. Volume I includes a Foreword (Eng/Ger) which covers all salient editorial issues with regard to Beethoven’s notation and performance practice issues, supplemented by facsimile pages. An indispensable standard work at the cutting edge of Beethoven scholarship!

Also available as an anthology is the complete critical report on all piano sonatas: Beethoven, Complete Sonatas for Pianoforte. Critical Commentary (BA 11840-40).
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
Press reviews
“Del Mar makes a great starting point for those who do not yet own their complete set of the sonatas. Strongly recommended.”
(Murray McLachlan, International Piano January 2020)

“There are many editions of Beethoven's Sonatas on the market at present but this particular one stands out as being especially beneficial and useful to all academic musicians as well as pianists. The complete set will prove to be a real treasure trove where no stone has been left unturned in the quest of historic backgrounds of this great music.”
(Nadia Lasserson, Piano Journal August 2019)
75.00 €
incl. VAT
Introductory price valid until 04.10.2021. Price valid from 05.10.2021 is EUR 94.00