Bach, Johann Sebastian
Suites, Partitas, Sonatas
Transcribed for harpsichord
Edition no.
BA 11820
Henstra, Siebe
Leonhardt, Gustav
Language(s) of text
English, German
Product format
Performance score(s), Anthology
Harpsichord, Piano
Pages / Format
VIII, 135 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
“I think Bach would have forgiven me for embarking on these transcriptions. Whether he would have forgiven the way I did it is, of course, another matter.” (Gustav Leonhardt)

The harpsichordist, conductor and organist Gustav Leonhardt was considered a pioneer of historical performance practice. Between 1968 and 1978 he made harpsichord transcriptions of several of Bach’s compositions for unaccompanied violin or violoncello. Now these transcriptions are being made available to us by his pupil, the famed harpsichordist Siebe Henstra, based on the handwritten notes that Leonhardt used for his own performances.

- Informative Foreword by early music specialist Skip Sempé (Ger/Eng)
- Editorial notes by the editor Siebe Henstra

If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
Press reviews
„a welcome addition to the keyboard player’s library.”
(Mark Kroll, Early Music America, 17.12.2017)

„a magnificent achievement […] everybody who is serious about playing Bach on the keyboard should have this volume.”
(Gregory Crowell, Clavichord International, November 2017)

„Leonhard's awareness of sonority is obvious in all these arrangements.“
(Douglas Hollick, The Consort, Summer 2018, Vol. 74.)
39.95 €
incl. VAT