Beethoven, Ludwig van
Sonata for Pianoforte in D major op. 28 "Pastorale"
- Urtext performance edition at the cutting edge of scholarship
- Optimal page turns
- Valuable suggestions on period performance practice (Eng/Ger)
- Detailed Critical Commentary (Eng)
Edition no.
Volume / Series
Del Mar, Jonathan
Instrumentation of the work
Language(s) of text
English, German
Product format
Performance score, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
XVI, 39 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
In October 1801 Beethoven offered a “grand sonata for the pianoforte” to the Viennese Kunst- und Industrie-Comptoir. His sonata in D major which was published in the following year has been inseparably connected with its nickname ever since the first English edition proclaimed “Sonate Pastorale” on its title page.

The musicologist Jonathan Del Mar, intimate connoisseur of Beethoven’s music, evaluates all sources and editions published during Beethoven’s lifetime for the present scholarly-critical Urtext edition. Particularly enlightening is the chapter on period performance practice which sheds light on certain issues of Beethoven’s instruments and their range, the usage of the pedals, tempo, dynamics, articulation and ornaments. The Introduction offers information on the work and its genesis. The detailed Critical Commentary accounts for sources, readings and editorial emendations. A clear appearance on the page and good page turns facilitate the study of this work which has been perceived as pastoral and lyrical by its audiences ever since its first performances.
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
Press reviews
“There are many editions of Beethoven's Sonatas on the market at present but this particular one stands out as being especially beneficial and useful to all academic musicians as well as pianists. The complete set will prove to be a real treasure trove where no stone has been left unturned in the quest of historic backgrounds of this great music.”
(Nadia Lasserson, Piano Journal August 2019)

„most comprehensive series“
(Nadia Lasserson, Piano Journal March 2018)
8.95 €
incl. VAT
plus delivery costs