Beethoven, Ludwig van
Grande Sonate for Pianoforte B-flat major op. 106 "Hammerklavier"
- Urtext edition with the latest musicological findings
- Reader-friendly engraving and practical page-turns
- Informative Introduction and valuable notes on central issues of period performance practice (Ger/Eng)
Edition no.
BA 11810
Volume / Series
Del Mar, Jonathan
Instrumentation of the work
Language(s) of text
English, German
Product format
Performance score, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
XX, 72 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
“Here’s a sonata that will challenge pianists and that one will be able to play in 50 years”: thus Beethoven is said to have written to his publisher Artaria regarding his mighty “Hammerklavier” Sonata op. 106. Given its monumental scale and extreme musical and pianistic demands, the term “Grande Sonate” seems almost an understatement. Dedicated to Archduke Rudolph of Austria, this sonata is famous not least for the seemingly unplayable autograph metronome marks in the opening movement and final fugue. The editor answers not only this difficult question convincingly but also finds solutions concerning other much-discussed issues such as the questions regarding “A” or “A -sharp” in the first movement (mm. 224-226) and the articulation of the sixteenth notes in the Adagio (m. 165). Nothing is uncomplicated in this pinnacle of the classical-romantic piano sonata, composed in “adverse circumstances” from 1817 to 1819. Even the sources pose supreme editorial challenges.
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
Press reviews
“There are many editions of Beethoven's Sonatas on the market at present but this particular one stands out as being especially beneficial and useful to all academic musicians as well as pianists. The complete set will prove to be a real treasure trove where no stone has been left unturned in the quest of historic backgrounds of this great music.”
(Nadia Lasserson, Piano Journal August 2019)

„most comprehensive series“
(Nadia Lasserson, Piano Journal March 2018)
10.95 €
incl. VAT