Beethoven, Ludwig van
Sonata for Pianoforte in E-flat major op. 81a "Les Adieux"
Lebewohl, Abwesenheit und Wiedersehn
Edition no.
BA 11808
Volume / Series
Del Mar, Jonathan
Instrumentation of the work
Language(s) of text
English, German
Product format
Performance score, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
XVII, 26 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Composed in 1809–10, Beethoven’s Sonata op. 81a expresses his very personal feelings. He titled its three movements “Das Lebewohl” (The Farewell), “Die Abwesenheit” (The Absence) and “Das Wiedersehn” (The Return) in reference to the hasty departure of his good friend and patron Archduke Rudolph of Austria who fled Vienna with the imperial family on 4 May 1809 to escape Napoleon’s approaching troops.

Beethoven referred to op. 81a as a “characteristic sonata”, not in the sense that it had an underlying programme, but because it lent musical expression to his feelings. He reacted angrily when his publisher printed French translations of its title and movement headings. This however did not prevent op. 81a from becoming widely known by its French name “Les Adieux”.Jonathan Del Mar, worldwide authority for Beethoven’s instrumental music, offers a reliable musical text on the basis of the most recent research. The editorial principles are clearly laid out in the Critical Commentary. The elegant engraving meets the performer‘s needs. Specifically, in the Bärenreiter Urtext edition there is no longer disruptive page turning between the slow second movement and the „attacca subito“ of the following Vivacissimamente. The publication is rounded off by helpful comments on important issues of historical performance practice and by an informative Introduction.

If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
Press reviews
“There are many editions of Beethoven's Sonatas on the market at present but this particular one stands out as being especially beneficial and useful to all academic musicians as well as pianists. The complete set will prove to be a real treasure trove where no stone has been left unturned in the quest of historic backgrounds of this great music.”
(Nadia Lasserson, Piano Journal August 2019)

„most comprehensive series“
(Nadia Lasserson, Piano Journal March 2018)
7.95 €
incl. VAT