Beethoven, Ludwig van
Sonata for Pianoforte in F-sharp major op. 78
Edition no.
BA 11807
Volume / Series
Del Mar, Jonathan
Instrumentation of the work
Language(s) of text
English, German
Product format
Performance score, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
XV, 20 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
It is hard to believe that this highly lyrical and moderately difficult sonata in the unusual key of F-sharp major was preceded by the supremely dramatic “Appassionata Sonata” in F minor op. 57 (BA 10852). Beethoven dedicated the sonata op. 78 to his pupil Therese von Brunsvick, occasionally said by Beethoven scholars to be his “immortal beloved”. It is also to her that the sonata owes its nickname “À Thérèse”. Beethoven himself highly valued the work which he felt turned out “better” than his more famous sonata op. 27 No. 2 in C-sharp minor (“Moonlight”, BA 10853).

The internationally renowned Beethoven specialist Jonathan Del Mar has evaluated all available sources and presents a reliable and conclusive musical text that comes as close as possible to the composer’s intentions. Source discrepancies and editorial decisions are documented in the Critical Commentary. An informative Introduction is followed by valuable notes on performance practice which discuss questions regarding pedalling, dynamics, articulation, and ornaments. The elegant engraving and practical page turns facilitate the study of this musically demanding work.

• Scholarly-critical Urtext edition at the cutting edge of scholarship
• Elegant engraving and optimal page turns
• Informative Introduction (Eng/Ger)
• With notes on period performance practice (Eng/Ger)
• Includes a Critical Commentary (Eng)
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
Press reviews
“There are many editions of Beethoven's Sonatas on the market at present but this particular one stands out as being especially beneficial and useful to all academic musicians as well as pianists. The complete set will prove to be a real treasure trove where no stone has been left unturned in the quest of historic backgrounds of this great music.”
(Nadia Lasserson, Piano Journal August 2019)

„most comprehensive series“
(Nadia Lasserson, Piano Journal March 2018)
10.95 €
incl. VAT