Beethoven, Ludwig van
Three Sonatas for Pianoforte in G major, D minor, E-flat major op. 31
- New readings
- Based on an evaluation of all available sources
- Reader-friendly layout and practical page turns
- With valuable information on historical performance practice (Eng/Ger)
Edition no.
Volume / Series
Del Mar, Jonathan
Instrumentation of the work
Language(s) of text
German, English
Product format
Performance score, Urtext edition, Anthology
Pages / Format
XXI, 104 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
With his sonatas op. 31 composed in 1802 Beethoven for the last time grouped together piano sonatas under one opus number. The centrepiece of the collection is undoubtedly the dramatic Sonata in D minor nicknamed »Tempest« which already fascinated his contemporaries. According to Anton Schindler, who asked the composer about the „key“ to this work as well as to the sonata op. 57 (»Appassionata«), Beethoven advised him: “Just read Shakespeare’s Tempest”.

Jonathan Del Mar, currently one of the most renowned Beethoven scholars, stands for a meticulously edited Urtext edition on the basis of an intensive study of all sources. Performers are presented with a musical text offering new readings and based on the latest research findings. The detailed Critical Commentary accounts for sources, readings and editorial emendations. In this edition great care has been given to a user-friendly layout which on the one hand reflects the flow and tempo of the music and on the other hand facilitates the study of this complex music by means of a transparent and clear appearance on the page as well as good page turns. Particularly enlightening is the chapter on period performance practice which sheds light on certain issues of Beethoven’s instruments and their range, the usage of the pedals, tempo, dynamics, articulation and ornaments.
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
Press reviews
“There are many editions of Beethoven's Sonatas on the market at present but this particular one stands out as being especially beneficial and useful to all academic musicians as well as pianists. The complete set will prove to be a real treasure trove where no stone has been left unturned in the quest of historic backgrounds of this great music.”
(Nadia Lasserson, Piano Journal August 2019)

“Del Mar`s careful assessment … makes his new critical edition of the Opus 31 Sonatas especially valuable for performers who have been relying on other publications for their interpretations.”
(Beethoven Journal, Winter 2017)

“A Critical Commentary discusses every turn of phrase in great detail while the clear spacious printing and layout for practical page-turning all go to make this the most comprehensive series of the sonatas of Beethoven and comes highly as a ‘must’ for all conservatoire music students, professionals, amateurs, young pianists an academics who aim to explore these great masterpieces in the greatest depth.”
(Nadia Lasserson, Piano Journal March 2018)
21.95 €
incl. VAT