Beethoven, Ludwig van
Grande Sonate for Pianoforte in E-flat major op. 7
Edition no.
BA 11802
Volume / Series
Del Mar, Jonathan
Instrumentation of the work
Language(s) of text
English, German
Product format
Performance score, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
XIV, 37 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
If the nickname “Appassionata” was appropriate for one of Beethoven’s Sonatas, it would be for his E-flat major Sonata op. 7 rather than his famous work in F minor op. 57. This was Carl Czerny’s opinion who felt that op. 7 was written in a rather passionate state of mind. It was not only Beethoven’s first “Grande Sonate” but also his first work of this genre which he had published individually.

The earliest sketches for Beethoven’s Grande Sonate op. 7 date from 1796 and the first edition was issued in October 1797. This work is one of the longest and most demanding of Beethoven’s piano sonatas. Its four movements cover a wide range of emotions – a challenge that may well have overtaxed the dedicatee, Beethoven’s then 16 year old pupil Anna Luise Barbara (Babette) Countess Keglevicz.

The worldwide renowned Beethoven specialist Jonathan Del Mar draws on all available sources for his scholarly-critical Urtext edition. The result of his thorough research is a reliable musical text accompanied by a detailed Critical Commentary. The elegant engraving with practical page turns and an optimal layout for this complex music meet the needs of performers. Indispensable information on performance-related issues (the use of the pedal, articulation, ornaments) adds to the value of this edition.
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
Press reviews
“There are many editions of Beethoven's Sonatas on the market at present but this particular one stands out as being especially beneficial and useful to all academic musicians as well as pianists. The complete set will prove to be a real treasure trove where no stone has been left unturned in the quest of historic backgrounds of this great music.”
(Nadia Lasserson, Piano Journal August 2019)

„most comprehensive series“
(Nadia Lasserson, Piano Journal March 2018)
7.95 €
incl. VAT