Smetana, Bedrich
Má vlast (My Country)
- Masterwork of the international symphonic repertoire in a Bärenreiter Urtext edition
- The complete cycle of six parts now in one volume
- Detailed Foreword on the genesis and reception of the work by leading Smetana scholar Olga Mojžíšová (Cz/Eng/Ger)
Edition no.
Macdonald, Hugh
Instrumentation of the work
Language(s) of text
German, English, Czech
Product format
Score, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
XVI, 450 S. - 31,5 x 25,0 cm
Since 2014, the six symphonic poems of the cycle "My Fatherland" by Bedrich Smetana have been published individually in new Urtext editions edited by Hugh Macdonald. Now all six parts of this unique work within the international symphonic repertoire are brought together in one conducting score.

The editor chose the autograph scores as his main source. The first editions of "Vyšehrad", "Vltava" and "From Bohemia’s Woods and Fields" in fact contain several misprints and a number of inaccuracies due to an incorrect reading of the manuscripts; therefore, these first editions together with the composer's four-hand piano arrangements served the editor only as secondary sources. The first prints of the other parts of the cycle appeared after Smetana's death and were therefore not taken into account for this edition.
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
220.00 €
incl. VAT
plus delivery costs