Rösler, Johann Joseph
Concerto for Pianoforte and Orchestra no. 2 in E-flat major
- First publication of a rediscovered piano concerto
- Idiomatic piano reduction with figured bass realization for the right hand
- Foreword (Cz/Eng/Ger) and Critical Commentary (Eng) by the editor
Edition no.
Volume / Series
Hönigová, Alena
Instrumentation of the work
Piano, Orchestra
Language(s) of text
Czech, English, German
Product format
Score, Urtext edition
Piano, Orchestra
Pages / Format
X, 105 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Johann Joseph Rösler (1771–1812) was a composer, conductor and pianist who was active in Prague and Vienna. Later he was in the service of Prince Franz Joseph von Lobkowitz. His Piano Concerto No. 2 in E-flat major of 1803 is a fitting companion to the piano concertos of Beethoven; indeed, his first Piano Concerto in D major was mistakenly attributed to Beethoven until 1925.
Now Rösler’s second Piano Concerto is appearing in print for the first time. This is due to editor Alena Hönigová discovering and identifying an autograph score which is the only preserved source in the Prague Conservatory archive. In this Urtext edition Hönigová takes into account the distinctive features of Rösler’s handwriting and the division of parts in the score, as befits the performance practice of his day.

If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
Press reviews
„The presentation of the score is uniformly excellent (playing through the solo part, I cannot remember encountering a single error); the text is clean and uncluttered and clear to read, and while page-turns are generally always hazardous for editors of virtuoso piano works, these have been sensibly considered, minimizing the impossible. An Introduction in Czech, German and English sets the scene nicely for this important addition to the literature, and a concise and informative Critical Commentary is provided at the end. Bärenreiter has set the standard for urtext editions of repertory from Rösler’s era, and we must be thankful to them and to Alena Hönigová for making such an enjoyable and well-crafted work available once more.
Tantalizingly, Rösler’s Repertorio lists a third piano concerto; let us hope that, one day, it too may be found and published.“
(John Irving, Eighteenth-Century Music, 18-2 (2021))
39.50 €
incl. VAT
plus delivery costs