Smetana, Bedrich
Vyšehrad for Orchestra
Symphonic Poem
- Classical masterpiece of Czech music in a new Urtext edition
- Joins the Urtext editions of “Vltava” (The Moldau), “Šárka” and “From Bohemia's Woods and Fields”, all newly edited by Hugh Macdonald
- Detailed Foreword by Smetana scholar Olga Mojzíšová (Cz/Eng/Ger) and Critical Commentary (Eng) by the editor
Date of publication
Edition no.
BA 11534
Volume / Series
Macdonald, Hugh
Language(s) of text
Czech, English, German
Product format
Score, Urtext edition
In late September 1874, shortly after losing his hearing, Smetana started work on “Vyšehrad”, the first symphonic poem in what would become a six-part cycle with the title “Má vlast” (My Country). It tells the eventful history of this fort in Prague.

“Vyšehrad” was published by Urbánek together with “Vltava” (The Moldau), the next part in the cycle, in a version for piano duet in December 1879. The full score and parts, proofread by the composer, followed in February 1880. Hugh Macdonald has corrected many errors in this first edition. He draws on the autograph and first print of the orchestral version and also refers to the autograph and printed piano duet version.
If you can read this something went wrong
ca. 36.95 €
incl. VAT
LieferbarkeitsanzeigeIn preparation