Hertl, František
Sonata for Double Bass and Piano
Edition no.
BA 11530
Instrumentation of the work
Double bass, Piano
Language(s) of text
Czech, English, German
Product format
Performance score
Double bass, Piano
Replaces H 2068
Pages / Format
V, 34/14 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
The renowned Czech bass player, composer and conductor František Hertl (1906–1973) led the double bass section of the Czech Philharmonic during the Václav Talich era and later taught at the Conservatory and the Academy of Musical Arts in Prague. An outstanding virtuoso, he had a consummate mastery of his instrument’s expressive potential and sound qualities. He also wrote successful concert and teaching pieces for his instrument.

Composed in 1946, Hertl’s only Sonata for Double Bass and Piano in three movements is a work of artistic and technical challenges that has maintained its place in the double bass repertoire to the present day.

• New edition of a major repertoire piece for double bass
• Foreword (Cz/Eng/Ger) by Hertl’s last pupil, Jan Balcar
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
21.95 €
incl. VAT