Saint-Saëns, Camille
Sonata no. 2 for Violin and Piano in E-flat major op. 102
- With a detailed Foreword (Fr/Eng/Ger) on the genesis and performance history
- Performing edition based on the Urtext of the “Saint-Saëns – Œuvres instrumentales complètes”
- Optimum layout in the violin part and piano score
Edition no.
Volume / Series
Guilloux, Fabien / Médicis, François de
Instrumentation of the work
Violin, Piano
Language(s) of text
French, English, German
Product format
Performance score, Part, Urtext edition
Violin, Piano
Pages / Format
XIV, 39/15 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
The second half of the 19th century represented something of a “Golden Age” of the violin sonata in France: influential violin sonatas such as those by Franck, Fauré and Saint-Saëns were among the successful works of this genre, inspiring many further compositions.

Saint-Saëns’ Violin Sonata no. 2 was written in 1896 during a stay of several months by the composer in Egypt: he began the main themes of all four movements as well as the canonic trio in Luxor and Aswan. The sonata was then completed on the Nile journey back to Cairo. That same year the sonata was premiered by Saint-Saëns and Pablo Sarasate in a concert celebrating the composer’s fiftieth stage anniversary. Astoundingly, he had first appeared on stage when he was only ten years old.

This performing edition edited by Fabien Guilloux and François de Médicis is based on “Saint-Saëns – Œuvres instrumentales complètes”, volume III/4. It reflects the most up-to-date state of research on this work which the edition presents in a spacious engraving.
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
28.95 €
incl. VAT
plus delivery costs