Beethoven, Ludwig van
Grande Sonate for Pianoforte in C major op. 53 "Waldstein"
Edition no.
BA 10856
Volume / Series
Del Mar, Jonathan
Instrumentation of the work
Language(s) of text
English, German
Product format
Performance score, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
XIX, 45 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Beethoven’s Grande Sonate in C major op. 53 (1803-04) marks his turn towards large-scale symphonic influenced piano works. Since its first publication this highly virtuosic piece, dedicated to Beethoven’s friend and patron Ferdinand, Count Waldstein, has lost none of its magnetism. To this day it remains a pianistic challenge and a musical touchstone for every performer.

Jonathan Del Mar, currently one of the most renowned Beethoven scholars, stands for a meticulously edited Urtext edition on the basis of an intensive study of all sources. Performers can look forward to a musical text which is based on the latest research findings and where the fine engraving as well as practical page turns will facilitate the study of this demanding work. This Urtext edition includes an informative Introduction and valuable notes on historical performance practice. Information regarding source discrepancies and editorial principles are presented in the detailed Critical Commentary which contains facsimile pages.

• Scholarly-critical Urtext edition based on the latest research findings
• Enlightening Introduction and notes on period performance practice (Eng/Ger)
• Well-presented engraving
• Practical page turns
• Detailed Critical Commentary (Eng) with facsimiles

If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
Press reviews
“There are many editions of Beethoven's Sonatas on the market at present but this particular one stands out as being especially beneficial and useful to all academic musicians as well as pianists. The complete set will prove to be a real treasure trove where no stone has been left unturned in the quest of historic backgrounds of this great music.”
(Nadia Lasserson, Piano Journal August 2019)

„these editions have no equal otherwise”
(Pianist Magazine Oct. 2017)

„most comprehensive series“
(Nadia Lasserson, Piano Journal March 2018)
9.95 €
incl. VAT