Beethoven, Ludwig van
Two Sonatas for Pianoforte in E major, G major op. 14
Edition no.
BA 10855
Volume / Series
Del Mar, Jonathan
Instrumentation of the work
Language(s) of text
German, English
Product format
Performance score, Urtext edition, Anthology
Pages / Format
XVII, 45 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Composed at about the same time as the “Grande Sonate pathétique” op. 13 (BA 10851), the two op. 14 sonatas are among the easiest Beethoven ever wrote and an indispensable part of piano lessons. Their lyrical, almost chamber-like textures and moderate difficulty make them an ideal introduction to the rich legacy of Beethoven’s sonatas.

Jonathan Del Mar, a scholar second to none in his knowledge of Beethoven’s music, now presents these sonatas in a cutting-edge Urtext edition based on the latest research findings and an intensive study of the sources. Practical page turns and a fine engraving reflecting the character of the music ensure maximum enjoyment for every pianist.
The informative Introduction describes the genesis of the works and is supplemented by valuable notes on performance practice. The Critical Commentary provides information on variants as well as editorial guidelines and contains facsimile pages.

• Scholarly-critical Urtext edition based on the latest research findings
• Enlightening Introduction and notes on period performance practice (Eng/Ger)
• Well-presented engraving and practical page turns
• Detailed Critical Commentary (Eng) with facsimiles
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
Press reviews
“There are many editions of Beethoven's Sonatas on the market at present but this particular one stands out as being especially beneficial and useful to all academic musicians as well as pianists. The complete set will prove to be a real treasure trove where no stone has been left unturned in the quest of historic backgrounds of this great music.”
(Nadia Lasserson, Piano Journal August 2019)

„these editions have no equal otherwise”
(Pianist Magazine Oct. 2017)

„most comprehensive series“
(Nadia Lasserson, Piano Journal March 2018)
10.50 €
incl. VAT