Haydn, Joseph
Late Piano Sonatas
Edition no.
BA 10804
Volume / Series
Moosbauer, Bernhard / Stüwe, Holger M.
Instrumentation of the work
Language(s) of text
German, English
Product format
Performance score, Anthology, Urtext edition
Pages / Format
XXXIV, 122 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Haydn’s late piano sonatas Hob. XVI:40–42 (1784) and Hob. XVI:48–52 (1788-95) reveal him to be a highly distinctive and consummate master in terms of form and expression. These technically brilliant works, the quintessence of his sonata output, were conceived for the hammerklavier and reflect the fresh inspiration Haydn received in London. In particular the London Sonatas will have been groundbreaking, not least for the young Beethoven.

This Urtext edition presents these piano sonatas in a spacious and elegant engraving which is easy to read and offers practical page turns. Editorial changes are kept to a minimum and are documented, together with alternative readings, in the Critical Commentary. The early version of the second movement of the Sonata in C major, Hob. XVI:50, is reproduced in the appendix. The fingering takes into consideration important aspects of the performance practice in Haydn’s time as well as issues of performance on the modern grand piano. Rounding off this performing edition is detailed information on historical performance practice (mainly with regard to instruments, articulation/staccato, ornaments, and pedalling) by the renowned harpsichord and fortepiano player Rebecca Maurer. Last but not least, the edition, which is based on most recent musicological research, is enhanced by an informative Preface.

- Critical performing edition at the cutting edge of musicology
- Valuable notes on period performance practice (Ger/Eng)
- Includes historically informed fingering
- Practical page turns
- Informative Foreword (Ger/Eng) and Critical Commentary (Eng)
If you can read this something went wrong
If you can read this something went wrong
24.50 €
incl. VAT