Eccles, Henry
Sonata in G minor
- Well-known and effective original piece for cello
- A “must” for young cellists
- Easy piano arrangement
Edition no.
BA 10699
Volume / Series
Bärenreiter's Concert Pieces
Sassmannshaus, Christoph
Instrumentation of the work
Violoncello, Piano
Language(s) of text
German, English
Product format
Performance score, Part
Violoncello, Piano
Pages / Format
7/10 S. - 30,0 x 23,0 cm
Henry Eccles left behind a number of smaller works most of which were written for violins or flutes. However, the most famous is this Sonata in G minor. Though often played in transcription by violinists and especially by double bass players, the sonata was originally published for cello in four movements – Prelude, Courante, Sarabande and Gigue – accompanied by a figured bass. Little is known about Henry Eccles. Neither his birth nor his death date has been firmly established, ranging respectively between 1675-85 and 1735-45. It is not even certain that he composed this sonata. He probably hailed from London and later served at the court of Louis XV in France.

The editor Christoph Sassmannshaus, is the grandson of Egon Sassmannshaus, the founder of the “Early Start” series of string methods.
If you can read this something went wrong
13.50 €
incl. VAT